Caring for cats is in my genes

Jacqueline Chan, Chair of the Board, Annex Cat Rescue
Twitter: @jacquelinedchan

I grew up with cats. My mom loves cats. My brother loves cats. I love dogs too, but always had cats in my life. After my cat passed away suddenly, I wanted to volunteer as a meaningful way to give back. When my husband and I moved a few years ago, it was important to me that we have enough space to be a foster home.  Over 100 cats have passed through our house and found homes. I’ve volunteered for political campaigns and the environmental non-profit sector, but caring for cats is tangible and the most rewarding. What I love most of all, is seeing how happy they make the adoptive families, and that makes the long hours all worth it.

One piece of advice for anyone that wants to listen? Don’t feel like you have to stay in one job, it’s OK to shift direction. Don’t only apply for the prestigious jobs and course correct across your career to make yourself happy.

Photo credit: E.K. Park, Pasada Media

Leave a comment